“WHEN I WORE A YOUNGER MAN’S CLOTHES” IN PHILADELPHIA, PENNSYLVANIA

An older man poses for his portrait at the studio of Adolph W. Rothengatter in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. While looking at this photograph I thought of a line in the lyrics of Billy Joel’s song “Piano Man”. “When I wore a younger man’s clothes” popped into my head. Something about the image made me think that this elderly man was wearing clothing that he had not worn for many years. At the time of this photograph, I think he looked a bit out of place in his “business clothes”. My thoughts on this matter probably reflect some sort of ageism. However, they are my thoughts and for some reason I wanted to share them. The photographer of this cabinet card operated his own business but during his career he also had partnerships which included “Rothengatter & Dillon” and “Rothengatter & Casselberry”.

Published in: on August 6, 2012 at 12:01 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://cabinetcardgallery.wordpress.com/2012/08/06/when-i-wore-a-younger-mans-clothes-in-philadelphia-pennsylvania/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. What a great face he has.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 529 other followers

