A VERY BEAUTIFUL BABY IN ELWOOD, INDIANA (MAY BE A POST MORTEM PHOTOGRAPH

babyThis cabinet card features a very beautiful baby wearing a long gown. Her hair is styled beautifully and her eyes are wide open. This sweet baby looks like a doll. She is either wearing flowers on her gown or else someone has placed flowers on her. At first I thought this was a lovely portrait of a baby girl. However, the longer I have owned this image, the more I think that this is a post mortem portrait. The little girl’s expression and the size and placement of the flowers has led me to believe that her poor soul had departed before the photographer took this photograph. This photograph really tugs at my emotions. The image was taken by the Rodgers & Manson studio (Gem Gallery) in Elwood, Indiana.

 

Published in: on December 25, 2014 at 12:02 pm  Comments (5)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cabinetcardgallery.wordpress.com/2014/12/25/a-very-beautiful-baby-in-elwood-indiana-may-be-a-post-mortem-photograph/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I don’t think it’s a post-mortem photograph.
    I would have had a creepy feeling about it which I did not.

    Thanks for posting old pictures.
    You bring those people from the dead.

  2. I don’t think so either. she’s really focused on the camera. There’s life in her eyes. This is a beautiful photograph.

  3. Can anyone tell me the name of this little girl; and how she died?! She looks IDENTICAL to my two year old, it has me freaked out.

  4. Everybody looks like somebody. No need to read anything into the resemblance. I don’t know the girl’s name and doubt its likely anyone can identify her.

    • Obviously everyone looks like someone else. But that is beside the point. I’m sure someone could identify her. There is always a way to date back on someone’s family tree. But I’ll continue to read into this because I’d like to know if my daughter is some how related to her.


Leave a Reply

