PORTRAIT OF A PRETTY YOUNG BRIDE (VINTAGE REAL PHOTO POSTCARD)

s-l1600-1

This vintage real photo postcard features a beautiful young bride. She is wearing a wedding gown and a pretty veil with a band of flowers. She has dark curly hair.  She also has a  dark complexion suggesting a non American or European origin. I am struck by her young appearance. The postcard has an “AZO’ stamp box indicating that it was produced between 1904 and 1918.

Published in: on October 16, 2015 at 12:00 pm  Comments (7)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cabinetcardgallery.wordpress.com/2015/10/16/portrait-of-a-pretty-young-bride-vintage-real-photo-postcard/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I think this might be a First Communion picture. She looks like a child.

  2. looks like First Holy Communion to me, girl’s used to dress like little brides

  3. Might be First Communion or Confirmation. Especially in an immigrant neighborhood church. The ringlets would likely be worn by only by a very young girl. On the other hand there was a young bride down the street from me who married at 13.

  4. I hope it’s a communion. She is WAY too young.

  5. I agree–First Communion (they used to have First Communion and Confirmation together at about 12 or 13 years of age). I have pictures of my grandmother about 1912 and my grandfather’s sister about 1914 that are similar.

  6. I’m not sure what to think about this one other then her Big Brown Eyes.

  7. The second I saw the photo I thought First Communion. She is just a little girl and the dress and veil is appropriate for the occasion.


Leave a Reply

