THREE FASHIIONABLE MEN AND THEIR HATS

three guys

This vintage real photo postcard features three fashionable men and their hats. These guys appear to be dressed for a special occasion. The men are smiling for the photographer, not a common sight in many portraits of this era. What era, you may ask? The answer lies in noting that the AZO stamp box indicates that the postcard was published sometime between 1904 and 1918. The names of these men and the identity of the photographer are lost to history.

three guys 1

Published in: on July 8, 2016 at 12:00 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cabinetcardgallery.wordpress.com/2016/07/08/three-fashiionable-men-and-their-hats/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Dear bmarshphd,

    I am planning an exhibit at the Petaluma Historical Library & Museum entitled, “Portraits of Petaluma’s Pioneers” scheduled to open the summer of 2017. One of the goals I have for the exhibit is the creation of an on-line archive of the Petaluma portrait photographs I have found. In my research, I encountered your “Cabinet Card Gallery” but am unable to access your “History Peddlar.com ” site when I click on your “Visit Our Store” icon. Also, I have concluded there is no method by which I can search your images by city. Am I correct, and have you posted any cabinet cards created in a Petaluma, California studio?

    I look forward to your reply.

    Paula Freund

    >

  2. Your planned exhibit sounds very interesting and I would appreciate seeing the online portion when it is available. Please let me know when it is online and it’s address. In regard to your question, it is entirely possible to search the Cabinet Card Gallery by city. There is a search box near the top of the page that you can enter any city’s name. It may be easier for you to enter “California” instead. I searched the site and found only one reference for Petaluma. There is a cabinet card on the site by a photographer (Anderson) that had a studio in Petaluma. However, the featured photograph was from a studio at a second location. Best of luck with your exhibition and if I can be of any assistance, please let me know.


Leave a Reply

